BBQ Hamburger Salad

hamburger

This is one of my favorites I make, it really doesn’t get any easier than this. I came across this recipe on http://www.primallyinspired.com , she has a ton of great recipes. I never used to be a big salad fan until about the last year or so. My perception on salads were that they were all the same. Holy moly how wrong was I! It shocks me sometimes when I hear women saying they don’t want to lift because they don’t want to get big. I think to myself, seriously women still think that?? I can’t help but think someone thought that of me when I used to mention salad was boring. Nobody enlightened me, I had to find out on my own. So women, let me help you out. You will not put on massive amounts of muscle if you lift weights! You will look gorgeous and fit. Anyway, back to the salad. It is very filling, my husband who eats a ton can hardly finish his portion when I make it. The amount of servings is entirely on how much your family eats. I use 1 lb of hamburger meat and it feeds my husband and I. Like I said though he eats a ton! So if your family eats smaller portions then you’ll be able to serve 2-4.

BBQ HAMBURGER SALAD

Ingredients:

  • Head of Romaine Lettuce
  • Bacon
  • Avocado
  • Red onion
  • Pickles
  • BBQ sauce of choice
  • Tomatoes
  • Hamburger meat

Directions:

  • Place hamburger meat in pan, crumbling it as it cooks.
  • Tear romaine lettuce into pieces and then wash and dry. The drier the lettuce is the less sauce you’ll have to use because it’ll stick better.
  • Chop all other side ingredients.
  • Once hamburger meat is done put about 1/2 cup of BBQ sauce.
  • Voila! Add everything together in your favorite salad bowl and enjoy :).

*On a side note, I didn’t list how much to put of everything because it entirely is up to you. If you love bacon make more bacon. If you hate tomatoes then leave it out. You can add mustard to it as well! Whatever you like you just determine how much each person in your family will want of each and chop accordingly.

2 thoughts on “BBQ Hamburger Salad

  1. I tried this last night, and it was fantastic! It was so easy to make and quite delicious, very flavorful. My boyfriend does not like vegetables/salads and he actually ate everything off of his plate. The only thing I did different was I put a little bit of salt on the tomatoes before adding them to the salad, which is just a habit I picked up from living with an Italian family.

Leave a Reply

