Blackened Chicken and Cilantro Lime Quinoa

chicken
Can we say hello flavor?!?! This recipe is very low maintenance which I’m all about most days. There are some days you don’t mind spending a hour prepping but for the most part, I like simple. There is some spice to it so if you aren’t someone who particularly likes spice then just put less of the cayenne and more of the onion powder. You can also make an easy avocado cream sauce to put on top to help with the spice. I happen to love spicy, the hotter the better I say! For my husband though, I have to tone it down…can’t hang with the big dog I say 🙂

 

Blackened Chicken and Cilantro Lime Quinoa (serves 2)
Adapted from http://www.sarcasticcooking.com/

Ingredients:
2 Boneless chicken breasts
1/2 t paprika
1/4 t salt
1/4 t pepper
1/4 t cayenne pepper
1/4 t cumin
1 t olive oil
2 cups low sodium chicken broth
1 cup quinoa
T of lime juice (if you really like lime then juice and zest from one lime)
2 T of cilantro (I added a handful but I love cilantro)

Directions:
1.Mix all dry seasonings in small bowl then rub on both sides of the chicken.
2.Add the teaspoon of olive oil to large pan and heat it for a minute or so over medium/high heat. Add breasts and cook for seven minutes on each side with lid on.
3.Add chicken stock and quinoa to medium sauce pan. Bring to a simmer over medium/low heat. Reduce the heat to low and simmer till stock has been absorbed about 10-15 minutes.
4.After chicken is cooled all the way through, remove from pan and let rest for seven minutes before slicing.
5.Once quinoa is cooked add the lime juice/zest with cilantro and mix together.

Avocado Cream Sauce

Ingredients:
1 Avocado
2 T greek yogurt

Directions:
Place the flesh of an avocado in food processor along with the greek yogurt and puree until smooth.
Then simply add on top of the chicken.

As always if you try it out, please leave a comment :)!

2 thoughts on “Blackened Chicken and Cilantro Lime Quinoa

  1. Thanks for sharing this recipe! I just made this tonight and it was so good! I will be adding it as a regular to our menu! I left out the cayenne pepper since I’m a wimp and can’t handle the heat! And even both of my picky eater kids loved it!

Leave a Reply

