Coconut Chia Seed Pudding with Mango

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chia seeds is all the craze now in days it seems but for good reason. Chia seeds are packed with antioxidants, high in protein, fiber, essential fats, and essential minerals such as sodium, calcium, phosphorous, manganese and potassium. Let’s just say that 2013 is undoubtedly the year of the chia seed among the health conscious.

Now there have been plenty of things that I make and I end up throwing it away because it’s not so good. Actually I rarely throw food away, we live out in the country so I honestly just throw food over the fence. I always wonder if people think I’m super lazy and wonder what I’m doing. Food is always gone though so the animals appreciate it! To get back on track, I make things on occasion that I’m skeptical about and after I make it I know why. This is one of those recipes that I was iffy on but figured why not try it! The consistency is very similar to tapioca pudding so if you don’t like the texture of that you will not like this. The mango is something I can do without next time but it was still good with it. I just prefer the pudding plain jane with no fruit.

Coconut Chia Seed Pudding with Mango

http://www.theroastedroot.net/ (source)

Ingredients:

1 cup full fat coconut milk

1 1/2 cups unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup chia seeds

2 to 3 Tablespoons Honey

1 ripe mango, peeled and diced

Instructions:

1. Combine the milks and honey in a container that you can shake.

2. Add the chia seeds and shake with the lid on.

3. Refrigerate the overnight (at least 6 hours).

And that’s it!! It’s a super simple dessert you can make ahead of time so it’s perfect for having guests over.

Please comment if you try this out and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

