Cheesy Butternut Squash Bake

foodI came across this recipe in a Better Homes and Garden magazine that I received. My husband and I had been doing Paleo for 8 months so this wouldn’t have been an option for us at the time. Then we switched to the zone diet for about 2 months after he learned about it in his crossfit certification level one class. After 10 months we are now doing a combination of both. I loved the Paleo diet, I felt great and was losing my baby weight pretty fast. The zone diet was great too but was very restrictive in what I could make because it took a lot of time to calculate the protein, carbs and fat for my 2 zone block and my husband’s 5 zone block. Now we are doing a very relaxed combination of both which is nice because I get to experiment more with new recipes. I love cooking and I believe everything is fine in moderation. Anyway, on to the recipe! This is suprisingly really good. I haven’t experimented much with squash so I wasn’t sure how it would come out. This recipe would be good for kids who don’t like vegetables because the squash isn’t something you can see, there is mushrooms that are obviously present but you can take them out if your child doesn’t like them. Some vegetables are better then none! The only thing I would change about this recipe is to add some meat to it, probably chicken.

Cheesy Butternut Squash Bake

Ingredients:
3 cups peeled and cubed butternut squash
8 oz dried cavatappi or other elbow macaroni (I used Farfalle)
1 Tbsp butter
8 oz cremini or button mushrooms, sliced
3 green onions (I used 4)
2 Tbsp all purpose flour
1 cup fat free milk (I used unsweetened almond milk)
6 oz fontina cheese, shredded (I used Le Gruyere)
2 slices bacon, crumbled (I didn’t put)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
2. In a bowl combine squash and 2 tbsp of water, cover with plastic wrap and microwave for about 8 minutes or until soft enough to squash.
3. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to directions and drain. In a medium saucepan heat butter over medium high heat and add mushrooms and green onions. Cook until tender about 5 minutes. Sprinkle flour over musroom mixture. Cook and stir for 1 minute. Add milk and salt/pepper. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Remove from heat; stir in squash. Add pasta. Gently fold to combine.
4. Transfer half of the pasta mixture in a 2 quart dish. Sprinkle half of cheese. Add remaining pasta mixture and cheese. Top with bacon, if desired. Bake uncovered 20 to 25 minutes or until heated through and cheese is melted. Top with additional green onions( I used 2 but I love green onions).

Each serving (makes 6): 334 cal 12 g fat, 39 mg chol, 366 mg sodium, 42 g carb, 3 g fiber, 16 g pro.

Leave a Reply

